Now Reading
We Heart It: Another social media platform that made its way through
28
Review

We Heart It: Another social media platform that made its way through

by February 18, 2015
Positives:

If you want to inspire yourself by seeing beautiful places, beaches, houses, gorgeous fashion outfits or to get daily-basis motivation about your life or workout you're on the right place.

Negatives:

Many users are teenage girls, so you may find it childish sometimes.

Rating
Editor Rating
User rating
Rate Here
How much do you like it?
Final thoughts:

Despite the variety of content and some teenager posts, I find We Heart It quite inspirational.

Editor Rating
User rating
3 ratings
You have rated this

my-canvas

I don’t know what it is with these social media networks. I’ve thought it through many times and whenever I seem to be getting close to the idea, I lose track and still don’t get it.
I mean there is Facebook with all its possibilities, options, the chat… And then there’s Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, and many other platforms that actually give you one or a few of the options you already have on Facebook, and restrict you with the other possibilities. In fact it is a little silly and at the same time very clever, but for years now it has proven to be working. Sometimes I think it is all about the limit, but then I get that people are always attracted by the thing they like, so it must be the idea that counts – how to make them like you. It seems that a little difference changes it all, and many people fear changes at first, but many more of them love it.

We Heart It is a social media network that was created in 2008 by Fabio Giolito. It was created even before Pinterest. It is a scrap-based website that refers to itself as “The home of your inspiration” where you can share and organize the things you like. This is another example of a successful idea that started at first like a side project for sharing photos between friends. Then it was incorporated in the US in 2011, later on in 2013 has announced to have raised 8 million in funding and 25 million monthly active users, leading to being ranked as 754 in Alexa’s global traffic rank in 2014.
It is a platform that supports photo, video and animated GIF format. Users get to “heart” items they like, to follow and be followed. They get “canvas” and “collections” where they share the items they like with their audience.
They can share images from another social network as well – they do not have to upload it in their collection. The users can join We Heart It through Facebook, Twitter and Google+. When you heart a photo it automatically goes to your canvas.

Although many people at first thought that it’s the same thing like Pinterest, now they see they were wrong. The common thing that everybody said was that it is another scrap-based blogging tool, but after a while they got to see the differences.
Anyhow We Heart It is a site that has young teenage girls as it’s target market, I mean just look at the pinkish logo and all the fashion related design. It is like the younger, more beautiful version of Pinterest, as many users like to call it.
The next thing that is different is the profile page and Pin Board, on We Heart It you get canvas and collection, as I already mentioned. Then you don’t get to comment and that’s why they refer to We Heart It as an anti-bullying tool. You can make tags, whereas on Pinterest you get description and caption. In fact Pinterest is more like an organizational tool where you can make a quick image based tutorial for a recipe or how-to, and We Heart It resembles kind of visual diary.

So, after many pros and cons about this social media network, there might have been doubts about whether it would be the next big thing, but we can see clearly that now it is.
Another fun fact is that it is all about female users, 80% of its users in fact, can you imagine? Pinterest isn’t much behind, with 70% female users.

we-heart-it-know-me-for-real-user-image

We Heart It is a lot less text-driven than Pinterest.
It has a button for the browser’s toolbar, just like Pinterest, you can even see the parallel – Heart It/Pin it.
We Heart It is available on iTunes and Google Play Store, both of the apps (IOS and Android) are free, so it’s clearly implied that blog-sharing community on the go is very well encouraged by We Heart it, just like every other social media network.
I’m excited to see how each social network evolves. The two can’t compete because comparing their purposes is like comparing apples to oranges.

This growing success shows us that there’s room for more that one social media network on the market and all you need is to think of an idea that makes things slightly different from the others and that the users love it.
I’m very glad to see that all these social media networks grow and progress constantly.
As I once read somewhere “We Heart It champions wearing your heart on your sleeve, and Pinterest will help you make one. “

What's your reaction?
Love it!
100%
Does not excite me
0%
I would recommend it
0%
Great value for money
0%
About The Author
Natasha Karanfilovska
28 Comments
  • March 31, 2015 at 6:16 pm
    Positives:

    Hi mates, its wonderful post about educationand fully defined, keep it
    up all the time.

    Negatives:

    Hi mates, its wonderful post about educationand fully defined, keep it
    up all the time.

    Hi mates, its wonderful post about educationand fully defined, keep it up all the time.

  • March 31, 2015 at 6:06 pm
    Positives:

    Having read this I believed it was very enlightening.
    I appreciate you spending some time and effort to put this article
    together. I once again find myself spending way too much time
    both reading and posting comments. But so what, it was still
    worth it!

    Negatives:

    Having read this I believed it was very enlightening.
    I appreciate you spending some time and effort
    to put this article together. I once again find myself spending way too much time
    both reading and posting comments. But so what, it was
    still worth it!

    Having read this I believed it was very enlightening.
    I appreciate you spending some time and effort to put this article together.
    I once again find myself spending way too much time both reading and
    posting comments. But so what, it was still worth it!

  • March 31, 2015 at 3:41 pm

    I always spent my half an hour to read this website’s articles daily along with a cup of coffee.

  • March 31, 2015 at 3:33 pm
    Positives:

    I do trust all of the ideas you've introduced
    in your post. They're really convincing and can certainly work.

    Still, the posts are too brief for newbies. May you please lengthen them a little from subsequent time?
    Thanks for the post.

    Negatives:

    I do trust all of the ideas you've introduced in your post.
    They're really convincing and can certainly work.
    Still, the posts are too brief for newbies.
    May you please lengthen them a little from
    subsequent time? Thanks for the post.

    I do trust all of the ideas you’ve introduced in your post.
    They’re really convincing and can certainly work. Still, the posts are too brief for newbies.
    May you please lengthen them a little from subsequent time?

    Thanks for the post.

  • March 31, 2015 at 2:51 pm
    Positives:

    Great post however , I was wondering if
    you could write a litte more on this subject?
    I'd be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit further.
    Bless you!

    Negatives:

    Great post however , I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this subject?
    I'd be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit further.
    Bless you!

    Great post however , I was wondering if you could write a
    litte more on this subject? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit further.
    Bless you!

  • March 31, 2015 at 1:37 pm

    Hello there, You’ve done a fantastic job. I will certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends.
    I am sure they will be benefited from this site.

  • March 31, 2015 at 8:57 am
    Positives:

    Aw, this was a really nice post. Taking a few minutes and actual effort to generate a superb article… but what
    can I say… I put things off a lot and never
    seem to get nearly anything done.

    Negatives:

    Aw, this was a really nice post. Taking a few minutes and actual
    effort to generate a superb article… but what can I say… I put things off a lot and never seem
    to get nearly anything done.

    Aw, this was a really nice post. Taking a few minutes and actual effort to
    generate a superb article… but what can I say… I put things off a lot and never seem to get nearly anything done.

  • March 31, 2015 at 6:21 am
    Positives:

    Hello, just wanted to say, I loved this article. It was practical.
    Keep on posting!

    Negatives:

    Hello, just wanted to say, I loved this article. It was
    practical. Keep on posting!

    Hello, just wanted to say, I loved this article. It was practical.
    Keep on posting!

  • March 31, 2015 at 1:41 am
    Positives:

    Greetings! Very useful advice within this article!
    It is the little changes that make the biggest changes.
    Many thanks for sharing!

    Negatives:

    Greetings! Very useful advice within this article! It is the
    little changes that make the biggest changes. Many thanks for sharing!

    Greetings! Very useful advice within this article! It is the little
    changes that make the biggest changes. Many thanks for sharing!

  • March 31, 2015 at 1:33 am
    Positives:

    I used to be able to find good advice from your blog articles.

    Negatives:

    I used to be able to find good advice from your blog articles.

    I used to be able to find good advice from your blog articles.

  • March 31, 2015 at 1:13 am

    Excellent site. Plenty of useful information here.
    I am sending it to some friends ans additionally sharing in delicious.

    And certainly, thanks to your effort!

  • March 31, 2015 at 12:55 am
    Positives:

    You have made some good points there. I checked on the web to find out more about the issue and found most individuals
    will go along with your views on this site.

    Negatives:

    You have made some good points there. I checked on the web to find out more about the
    issue and found most individuals will go along with your views
    on this site.

    You have made some good points there. I checked on the web
    to find out more about the issue and found most individuals will go along with your views on this site.

  • March 31, 2015 at 12:52 am
    Positives:

    Every weekend i used to pay a quick visit this site,
    as i wish for enjoyment, for the reason that this this website
    conations truly nice funny information too.

    Negatives:

    Every weekend i used to pay a quick visit this site,
    as i wish for enjoyment, for the reason that this this website conations
    truly nice funny information too.

    Every weekend i used to pay a quick visit this site, as i wish for enjoyment, for the reason that
    this this website conations truly nice funny information too.

  • March 31, 2015 at 12:26 am
    Positives:

    You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be really something
    that I think I would never understand. It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me.

    I am looking forward for your next post, I'll try to get the
    hang of it!

    Negatives:

    You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be really something
    that I think I would never understand. It seems too complicated
    and extremely broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I'll try to get the hang of it!

    You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be really
    something that I think I would never understand. It seems too
    complicated and extremely broad for me. I am looking forward for your
    next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  • March 30, 2015 at 7:27 pm
    Positives:

    Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all folks you actually
    know what you are talking about! Bookmarked.
    Kindly additionally discuss with my website =). We could have a link change contract between us

    Negatives:

    Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all folks you actually know what you are talking
    about! Bookmarked. Kindly additionally discuss with my
    website =). We could have a link change contract between us

    Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all folks
    you actually know what you are talking about! Bookmarked.
    Kindly additionally discuss with my website =). We could have a link change contract between us

  • March 30, 2015 at 7:23 pm
    Positives:

    I'm extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself?
    Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like this
    one today.

    Negatives:

    I'm extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with
    the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself?
    Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like this one today.

    I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself?
    Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like this one today.

  • March 30, 2015 at 6:26 pm
    Positives:

    Do you have any video of that? I'd love to find out some
    additional information.

    Negatives:

    Do you have any video of that? I'd love to find out some additional information.

    Do you have any video of that? I’d love to find out some additional information.

  • March 30, 2015 at 12:51 pm
    Positives:

    Very good post! We are linking to this particularly great article on our website.
    Keep up the great writing.

    Negatives:

    Very good post! We are linking to this particularly great article on our website.
    Keep up the great writing.

    Very good post! We are linking to this particularly great article
    on our website. Keep up the great writing.

  • March 30, 2015 at 12:17 pm
    Positives:

    I was extremely pleased to uncover this web site.
    I need to to thank you for ones time for this particularly fantastic read!!
    I definitely really liked every little bit of it and I have you saved to fav to check out new
    things on your website.

    Negatives:

    I was extremely pleased to uncover this web site. I need to to thank you for ones time for this particularly fantastic read!!
    I definitely really liked every little bit of it and I
    have you saved to fav to check out new things
    on your website.

    I was extremely pleased to uncover this web site. I ned to to thank you
    for ones time for this particularly fantastic read!! I definitely really liked every little bit of it and I have you saved
    to fav to check out new things on your website.

  • March 30, 2015 at 12:15 pm
    Positives:

    You need to be a part of a contest for one of the highest quality sites
    on the internet. I most certainly will highly recommend this web site!

    Negatives:

    You need to be a part of a contest for one of the highest quality sites on the internet.
    I most certainly will highly recommend this web site!

    You need to be a part of a contest for one of the
    highest quality sites on the internet. I most certainly will highly recommend this web site!

  • March 30, 2015 at 12:00 pm
    Positives:

    I am not sure where you're getting your information, but good topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.
    Thanks for great information I was looking for this information for my mission.

    Negatives:

    I am not sure where you're getting your information, but good
    topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.
    Thanks for great information I was looking for this information for
    my mission.

    I am not sure where you’re getting your information, but good topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.

    Thanks for great information I was looking for this information for my mission.

  • March 30, 2015 at 11:28 am
    Positives:

    Hi there friends, how is everything, and what you want to say about this article, in my view its actually
    remarkable for me.

    Negatives:

    Hi there friends, how is everything, and what
    you want to say about this article, in my view its
    actually remarkable for me.

    Hi there friends, how is everything, and what you want to say about this article, in my view its actually remarkable for
    me.

  • March 30, 2015 at 2:47 am
    Positives:

    Exceptional post however , I was wondering if you could
    write a litte more on this topic? I'd be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit further.

    Appreciate it!

    Negatives:

    Exceptional post however , I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this topic?

    I'd be very grateful if you could elaborate a little
    bit further. Appreciate it!

    Exceptional post however , I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this topic?

    I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit further.

    Appreciate it!

  • March 28, 2015 at 5:39 am
    Positives:

    I’m not that mսϲh of a online reɑder to
    be honest but your sites really nice, keep it
    up! I'll go ahead and bookmark your site tο come
    back later on. All the best

    Negatives:

    І’m not that mudh of a onlіne rеader to be honest but your sites
    really nice, keep it up! I'll go ahead аnd Ьookmark yoir site to comе back
    later on. All the best

    I’m not thаt much of a online reader to be hоnest but your
    sites really nice, keep it up! I’ll goo aahead and bookmark your site to come back later on. All
    the best

  • March 28, 2015 at 12:37 am
    Positives:

    It's really a nice and helpful piece of information. I'm glad that you simply shared this helpful info with us.
    Please keep us up to date like this. Thank you for
    sharing.

    Negatives:

    It's really a nice and helpful piece of information. I'm glad that you simply shared this helpful info with us.
    Please keep us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

    It’s really a nice and helpful piece of information. I’m glad that you simply shared this helpful info
    with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thank you
    for sharing.

  • March 20, 2015 at 6:00 pm
    Positives:

    I'd like to thank you for the efforts you've put in penning this site.
    I really hope to check out the same high-grade content by you
    in the future as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has
    encouraged me to get my own, personal site now
    ;)

    Negatives:

    I'd like to thank you for the efforts you've put in penning this
    site. I really hope to check out the same high-grade content by you in the future as well.

    In truth, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my
    own, personal site now ;)

    I’d like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning
    this site. I really hope to check out the same high-grade content by you in the future as
    well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own,
    personal site now 😉

  • March 4, 2015 at 8:51 pm
    Positives:

    I don't even know how I ended up here, but I believed this submit used to be good.
    I don't understand who you might be but certainly you're going to a well-known blogger if you aren't
    already. Cheers!

    Negatives:

    I don't even know how I ended up here, but I believed this submit used to
    be good. I don't understand who you might be but certainly
    you're going to a well-known blogger if you aren't already.

    Cheers!

    I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I believed this submit used to be good.
    I don’t understand who you might be but certainly
    you’re going to a well-known blogger if you aren’t already.
    Cheers!

Leave a Response

How much do you like it?