Now Reading
Review: Raspberry Pi 2 – Model B
15
Review

Review: Raspberry Pi 2 – Model B

by February 25, 2015
Positives:

Significant improvement on the performance and still very affordable price.

Negatives:

The setup still can be tricky.

Rating
Editor Rating
User rating
Rate Here
How much do you like it?
Is the item, place or service good value for money?
Final thoughts:

Although very similar to its predecessor, absolutely useful and worth owning.

Editor Rating
User rating
You have rated this

raspberry-pi-2

The follower of the Raspberry Pi, the new Raspberry Pi 2 was officially released on 2nd of February 2015. The second generation of the device, in fact, superseded and improved the Raspberry Pi 1 model B+ compared to lot of significant things.
The new edition has a 900 MHz quad-core ARM Cortex-A7 CPU and 1 GB RAM. That counts as doubled memory and 6x faster than it’s predecessor. The reason why there was no Raspberry Pi 2 model A, are the features that the Raspberry Pi 2 model B inherits from the Raspberry Pi 1 model B+:
– 40 GPIO (General Purpose Input Output) pins;
– Ethernet port;
– 4 USB ports;
– Combined 3.5mm audio jack and composite video;
– Camera interface (CSI);
– Full HDMI port;
– Display interface (DSI);
– VideoCore IV 3D graphics core;
– Micro SD card slot.

Because of the much improved CPU – ARMv7, now Raspberry Pi 2 can run the full range of ARM GNU-Linux distributions including Snappy Ubuntu Core and Windows 10. Yes you read it right, Microsoft and the Raspberry Pi Foundation have been working closely in order to bring Windows 10 to Raspberry Pi 2, and it will be completely free of charge to the Maker community.

The the new generation of the revolutionary credit-card sized personal computer not only managed to resolve many of the concerning issues, but also managed to maintain the ridiculously low price of US $35.
Although many of the tweaks are the same as in the previous model (the Raspberry Pi model B+), still this PC evolved very much regarding the performance.
Because of the resemblance of the features, Raspberry Pi 2 is fully compatible with the Pi 1 which is a pro because all the tutorials will still be valid. That is very important since the software setup and getting the most out of this PC can be delicate for some users.

Many users would agree that doubling the size of the RAM and adding a powerful quad-core to this unit is more than one could ask for that price.
The Raspberry Pi Foundation succeeded in optimizing many open-source libraries and applications like LibreOffice, WebKit, Scratch, Pixman, Wolfram Mathematica, Python program creation tools and many more.
As for the improvements The Raspberry Pi Foundation made a significant one on the Raspbian project as well, project run by Peter Green and Mike Thompson.

However, Raspberry Pi 1 is still more useful for embedded projects and projects that require low power, so the Raspberry Pi Foundation will continue to meet the demand of Raspberry Pi models B an B+ while there still has one.

Raspberry Pi 2 is highly recommended for educational purposes in schools thanks to the flexibility it offers. It’s way of teaching about programming and basic computer science is interesting and challenging for all the IT fanatics and normal people, and as an experience that clearly resonates, I will mention the fact that there are more than five million Raspberry Pi models that have shipped worldwide.

The Raspberry Pi cannot substitute your main home personal computer, but neither is that the original cause for it’s existence, so we all may concur that this single board computer stands for a valuable thing that happened to all of humanity. To be able to learn programming with Scratch, create a humidity sensor, small server or many more cool projects using this tiny PC and the wide range of tutorials that have been bursting over the Internet in the past years, surely implies that the Raspberry Pi Foundation has done a great job on bringing closer computer science to everyone interested.
In conclusion, the refinement to keep the cost same and offer this much, the Raspberry Pi 2 will leave many enthusiasts without sleep, since the difference and enhancement in interactive use of the device is essential.

What's your reaction?
Love it!
43%
Does not excite me
0%
I would recommend it
57%
Great value for money
0%
About The Author
Natasha Karanfilovska
15 Comments
  • March 31, 2015 at 7:21 pm
    Positives:

    Excellent way of telling, and nice post to obtain information on the topic of
    my presentation subject, which i am going to deliver in university.

    Negatives:

    Excellent way of telling, and nice post to obtain information on the topic of my presentation subject,
    which i am going to deliver in university.

    Excellent way of telling, and nice post to obtain information on the topic of my presentation subject, which i
    am going to deliver in university.

  • March 30, 2015 at 6:40 pm
    Positives:

    This information is invaluable. How can I find out
    more?

    Negatives:

    This information is invaluable. How can I find out
    more?

    This information is invaluable. How can I find out more?

  • March 30, 2015 at 11:05 am
    Positives:

    Simply wish to say your article is as astonishing.
    The clearness on your post is simply nice and i could think you're a professional in this subject.

    Well along with your permission allow me to snatch
    your RSS feed to stay up to date with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please keep up the enjoyable work.

    Negatives:

    Simply wish to say your article is as astonishing. The clearness on your post is
    simply nice and i could think you're a professional in this subject.
    Well along with your permission allow me to snatch your RSS feed to stay
    up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and
    please keep up the enjoyable work.

    Simply wish to say your article is as astonishing.
    The clearness on your post is simply nice and i could think you’re a professional
    in this subject. Well along with your permission allow me to snatch your RSS feed to
    stay up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and
    please keep up the enjoyable work.

  • March 30, 2015 at 8:04 am
    Positives:

    Greetings I am so delighted I found your weblog, I really found you by mistake, while
    I was browsing on Digg for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like
    to say cheers for a incredible post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don't have time to go through it all at the
    moment but I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I
    have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the awesome work.

    Negatives:

    Greetings I am so delighted I found your weblog, I really found you
    by mistake, while I was browsing on Digg for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say cheers for
    a incredible post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don't have time to go through it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the
    awesome work.

    Greetings I am so delighted I found your weblog, I really found you by
    mistake, while I was browsing on Digg for something
    else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to
    say cheers for a incredible post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to go through it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the awesome
    work.

  • March 29, 2015 at 7:27 pm
    Positives:

    Hi! I know this is kinda off topic however , I'd figured I'd ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring a
    blog post or vice-versa? My blog addresses a lot of the same subjects as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each
    other. If you happen to be interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Excellent blog by the
    way!

    Negatives:

    Hi! I know this is kinda off topic however , I'd figured
    I'd ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or
    maybe guest authoring a blog post or vice-versa? My blog addresses a lot of the same subjects
    as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you happen to be interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Excellent blog by the way!

    Hi! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest
    authoring a blog post or vice-versa? My blog addresses a lot
    of the same subjects as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you happen to be interested feel free to
    shoot me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you! Excellent blog
    by the way!

  • March 29, 2015 at 11:34 am
    Positives:

    Thanks a lot for sharing this with all folks you actually recognize what
    you're talking about! Bookmarked. Please additionally visit
    my site =). We can have a hyperlink change agreement between us

    Negatives:

    Thanks a lot for sharing this with all folks you actually recognize what
    you're talking about! Bookmarked. Please additionally visit my site =).
    We can have a hyperlink change agreement between us

    Thanks a lot for sharing this with all folks you actually recognize
    what you’re talking about! Bookmarked. Please additionally visit
    my site =). We can have a hyperlink change agreement between us

  • March 29, 2015 at 10:52 am
    Positives:

    I'm gone to tell my little brother, that he should also pay a visit this website on regular basis to take updated from most recent news.

    Negatives:

    I'm gone to tell my little brother, that he should also pay a visit
    this website on regular basis to take updated from most recent news.

    I’m gone to tell my little brother, that he should also pay a visit this
    website on regular basis to take updated from most recent news.

  • March 29, 2015 at 7:31 am
    Positives:

    I used to be recommended this web site via my
    cousin. I am no longer sure whether this publish is written by means of
    him as nobody else realize such distinctive approximately my problem.
    You're amazing! Thank you!

    Negatives:

    I used to be recommended this web site via my cousin. I am
    no longer sure whether this publish is written by means of him as
    nobody else realize such distinctive approximately my problem.

    You're amazing! Thank you!

    I used to be recommended this web site via my cousin. I am no longer sure whether this publish is written by means of him as nobody else realize such distinctive approximately my problem.
    You’re amazing! Thank you!

  • March 29, 2015 at 6:34 am
    Positives:

    We are a group of volunteers and opening a brand new scheme in our community.
    Your website provided us with helpful info to work on. You've
    performed a formidable task and our whole group will be grateful to you.

    Negatives:

    We are a group of volunteers and opening a brand new scheme in our community.

    Your website provided us with helpful info to work
    on. You've performed a formidable task and our whole group will be grateful
    to you.

    We are a group of volunteers and opening a brand new scheme
    in our community. Your website provided
    us with helpful info to work on. You’ve performed a formidable task and our whole group will be grateful to you.

  • March 28, 2015 at 6:06 pm
    Positives:

    Hello to all, it's actually a pleasant for me to pay a visit this website, it contains helpful
    Information.

    Negatives:

    Hello to all, it's actually a pleasant for me to pay a visit this website, it contains helpful Information.

    Hello to all, it’s actually a pleasant for me to pay a visit this website, it contains helpful Information.

  • March 28, 2015 at 9:33 am
    Positives:

    Appreciating the persistence you put into your blog and in depth information you present.

    It's nice to come across a blog every once in a while that
    isn't the same unwanted rehashed material. Fantastic read!

    I've bookmarked your site and I'm adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

    Negatives:

    Appreciating the persistence you put into your blog and in depth information you present.
    It's nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn't the same unwanted rehashed material.

    Fantastic read! I've bookmarked your site and I'm adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

    Appreciating the persistence you put into your blog and in depth information you present.
    It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while
    that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material.
    Fantastic read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding
    your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  • March 28, 2015 at 8:03 am
    Positives:

    Hi there to every one, since I am in fact keen of reading this website's post to be updated daily.
    It includes fastidious material.

    Negatives:

    Hi there to every one, since I am in fact keen of reading this
    website's post to be updated daily. It includes fastidious material.

    Hi there to every one, since I am in fact keen of
    reading this website’s post to be updated daily.
    It includes fastidious material.

  • March 28, 2015 at 5:46 am
    Positives:

    Hi to all, it's in fact a fastidious for me to visit this site, it consists of valuable Information.

    Negatives:

    Hi to all, it's in fact a fastidious for me to visit this site, it consists of valuable Information.

    Hi to all, it’s in fact a fastidious for me to visit
    this site, it consists of valuable Information.

  • March 28, 2015 at 5:10 am
    Positives:

    Hello! I know this is kinda off topic however , I'd figured I'd ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links
    or maybe guest authoring a blog post or vice-versa?
    My blog discusses a lot of the same topics as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you happen to be interested feel free to shoot me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Terrific blog by the way!

    Negatives:

    Hello! I know this is kinda off topic however ,
    I'd figured I'd ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring a blog post or vice-versa?
    My blog discusses a lot of the same topics as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you happen to be interested feel free to shoot me
    an email. I look forward to hearing from you! Terrific blog by the way!

    Hello! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe
    guest authoring a blog post or vice-versa? My blog discusses a lot of the same topics as yours and I believe we could
    greatly benefit from each other. If you happen to be interested feel free to shoot me an email.

    I look forward to hearing from you! Terrific blog by the way!

  • March 26, 2015 at 5:12 am
    Positives:

    Hi, I do believe this is a great website. I stumbledupon it ;) I may revisit yet again since I book-marked it.
    Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and continue to help others.

    Negatives:

    Hi, I do believe this is a great website. I stumbledupon it
    ;) I may revisit yet again since I book-marked it.
    Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and continue to help others.

    Hi, I do believe this is a great website. I stumbledupon it 😉 I may revisit yet
    again since I book-marked it. Money and freedom is the best way to
    change, may you be rich and continue to help others.

Leave a Response

How much do you like it?
Is the item, place or service good value for money?